Swamp Orcs symbol

Eight Summoner Wars Second Summoner decks are now up for pre-order in the PlaidHatGames.com store! You can buy them all separately, OR for a limited time, if you pre-order all eight together, get them for $59.95, $20 off the MSRP! Pre-order today!

Welcome back everyone!  Time to tie a vine around the second Swamp Orc Summoner, Natazga!

So far, we've seen how much Natazga likes beating up walls to choke the opponent down with vines, and how her common Units both support and further that strategy. But this cool mechanic doesn't always promote a strong matgic economy. So, here's a card that epitomizes that idea: creating vine walls but challenging the magic economy:

Quagmire

This card was, well, a bit of a quagmire to balance, but its ended up a really cool card. So you attack that wall and toss a Vine Wall deep in enemy territory. On their turn, the opponent decides they need to deal with that threat, but when they do not only do their attacks fail, but MOAR VINES! This is another one of those delicious cards that can mess with all but the best laid plans, especially when you trap someone next to the Vine Wall they tried to kill!

And then, wouldn't it be cool if there was a champion that could teleport onto that newly created Vine Wall?

Sklursh

This is a scary dude, and I've gotta say he might have my favorite Swamp Orc name. I can't tell you how many times I've stepped into a muddy patch on the disc golf course and heard "sklursh" as my boot gets soaked. And Sklursh himself is a lot better at stepping in mud then I am. One thing about Natazga compared to Mugglug is that her Vines typically aren't connected. Based on where the opponent's walls are, they can end up all over the place, but Sklursh doesn't mind. He just bounces around like a swamp genie thing on a pogo stick. And then shoots you with 3 ranged dice. Quite a mobile champion for that statline.

But what would be even cooler for those new vines than a Champion that can teleport onto them?  What can be even cooler than any of the other cards in this deck? What, in my opinion is cooler than any other Event card ever printed in Summoner Wars History!? This card.

Fury of the Fen

A bunch of Vine Walls coming to life and killing stuff?!?!  That's just too sweet!  Easily my favorite card in this deck, it brings the concept of choking with Vine Walls to a new level.  With 2 copies of this card, this is the main way that Natazga can make up that magic disadvantage. For 2 turns, all of the sudden those Vines she made by beating up your walls can beat other things up and earn her back some magic, along with repositioning themselves where she needs them.  But really, its just my favorite card because the visual of a bunch of vines coming to life and killing stuff is awesome.

So that's that for Natazga!  See you back next week to finish up Scraven and Malenatar!

Eight Summoner Wars Second Summoner decks are now up for pre-order in the PlaidHatGames.com store! You can buy them all separately, OR for a limited time, if you pre-order all eight together, get them for $59.95, $20 off the MSRP! Pre-order today!

Second Summoner Previews:
Kynstri's Mission
Saturos: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
Natazga: Part 1, Part 2
Malenatar: Part 1, Part 2
Scraven: Part 1, Part 2
Little Meda: Part 1, Part 2
Shiva: Part 1, Part 2
Brath: Part 1, Part 2
Farrah: Part 1, Part 2


Comments


prometheuslkr commented:

Does Fury of the Fen mean you can kill your own vine walls for magic?

Posted on 2016-05-09.

killercactus commented:

No - they're still Vine Walls and go to the Vine Wall pile when destroyed.

Posted on 2016-05-09.

mattmanx06 commented:

Are vine walls considered common units under the effects of fen? I was wondering because I was curious about Saturos vanquish on a vine wall. Then you could build that vine wall to magic haha

Posted on 2016-05-09.

killercactus commented:

No, they aren't considered to be any specific "type" of Unit. So they can't get Feared, etc.

Posted on 2016-05-09.

Colonel_S commented:

So Sklursh can surf a Vine Wall when the Vine Wall is moving? If so, that's awesome. I might actually play Swamp Orcs more.

Posted on 2016-05-09.

Syurtpiutha commented:

Awesome. I love Fury of the Fen, and Sklursh also seems awesome. All of this is awesome. Damn you, time and space, for not letting me already have these decks!


Posted on 2016-05-09.

Clarissimus commented:

Ok, I'll bite. Why are they considered Mercenary units and not Swamp Orc units?

Posted on 2016-05-09.

killercactus commented:

Well, partly because that's how James designed the card, but also partly because I didn't want them working with Erosion.

Posted on 2016-05-09.

Prelate commented:

Fury of the Fen is incredible! Coupled with Erosion and Quagmire you can pull off some insane turns! (although sadly you cannot chain FoTF with Erosion to pull off crazy leap-frog walls)

Posted on 2016-05-09.

jtberman commented:

They're still cool with Erosion. Attack a wall with a regular unit, sprout a vine wall on one of the other sides, get two dice to attack a unit with the new vine wall.

Posted on 2016-05-09.

prometheuslkr commented:

@kc Since they're considered vine walls first and units second, that means you can move through them with other, non-vine wall units while fury is active?

Posted on 2016-05-09.

Irisches Glueck commented:

With fury of fen making them mercenaries, it really makes them feel more like a Swamp Merc deck than Glurbulb's does haha

Posted on 2016-05-09.

killercactus commented:

@prom - Yes you can, and as soon as a Unit moves onto the Vine Wall, it stops being a Unit while someone is on top of it.

Posted on 2016-05-09.

epyonyx commented:

If a unit is on a vine wall when fury is activated. Would that vine wall become a mercenary unit after the unit moved off of it?

Posted on 2016-05-09.

adalbert commented:

Fury of the Fen looks awesome.

Posted on 2016-05-09.

killercactus commented:

@epy - yes

Posted on 2016-05-09.

lcanela commented:

I am surprised the prometheurs scenario was never found in testing...

Posted on 2016-05-10.

killercactus commented:

It was addressed in testing 100 times. I just don't remember what I ruled back then.

Posted on 2016-05-10.

BTBAM commented:

@lcanela It was, Frank is likely just forgetting. Currently the ruling is you cannot because they are a Unit. Same reason Mystics cannot shoot through them.

Posted on 2016-05-10.

killercactus commented:

EDIT: Wait, wait, wait a minute. I'm remembering the Mystics issue that BTBAM brought up. This is different.

You can move onto a Vine Wall when Fen is active, but then the Vine Wall stops being a Unit because Fen only allows unoccupied Vine Walls to be Units. If you then move off of it, it becomes a Unit again.

Posted on 2016-05-10.

MtS commented:

And can I move the Vine Wall when it becomes a Unit from underneath other Unit that was standing on the Vine Wall?

Posted on 2016-05-10.

This comment has been deleted.

killercactus commented:

@MtS, no you can't, because its not a Unit when its occupied. I edited my reply above.

And the reason Mystics can't shoot through them is because the Mystic ability specifies that they can't shoot through a space containing a Unit.

Posted on 2016-05-10.

lcanela commented:

It is confusing, they become units but allow you to be on top of them and then they are not units anymore... Did I understand correctly?

Posted on 2016-05-10.

killercactus commented:

Yes - you just have to read Fury of the Fen carefully. All unoccupied Vine Walls are considered Merc Units. Occupied Vine Walls are just Vine Walls. The Vine Wall special rules override the basic rules from the rulebook, allowing you to move onto their space, but then they immediately cease to be a Unit until they're unoccupied again.

Posted on 2016-05-10.

lcanela commented:

What is confusing is that by becoming mercenary units how can a unit be on top of it? What makes sense in my mind is that the vine walls with units on top of them do not become units, but, once they have become units no one should be able to be on top until the end of the turn, when they become walls again. May I ask why is this ruled this way?

Posted on 2016-05-10.

jtberman commented:

KC, the playtesting notes seem to indicate that units can't walk ONTO or THROUGH an unoccupied Vine Wall when FotF is active because it's considered to be a unit at that time. If the ruling has changed since then, it's probably fine, as long as there is an FAQ entry that covers it when the deck is released.

Posted on 2016-05-10.

killercactus commented:

I'm crossing my stories here, guys. It's hard to do this when I'm sitting at my accounting desk with important stuff due. I'll look into it later and figure it out.

Posted on 2016-05-10.

MtS commented:

Thanks for the clarifications! I think it is clear to me now (only the instance of moving ONTO the Vine Wall Unit needs still to be cleared). My guts tell me it kind of makes sense to prohibit moving ONTO the Vine Wall Unit, but knowing what's the official ruling would be nice (and it's FAQ worthy question for sure).

Posted on 2016-05-10.

Zaid commented:

This deck, art, and style has really invigorated my love for the Swamp Orcs.

GREAT design philosophy here, and art direction. Every card just looks dynamic.

Posted on 2016-05-10.

epyonyx commented:

By mystics, are you guys referring to the swamp archers?

Posted on 2016-05-10.

killercactus commented:

Yep - they used to be called Mystics. NOW WHO'S CREATING CONFUSION BTBAM!! :)

And by the way everyone, I looked up the "move through a Fury'ed Vine Wall" issue. You cannot move onto a space containing a Vine Wall during a Fury turn, because since the Vine Wall is a Unit, it now occupies that space. The rulebook specifically prevents Units from moving through occupied spaces. The Vine Wall rules don't supersede this because a Vine Wall alone does not occupy a space. However, I think a Unit with Flight (or something similar) could move onto a Fury'ed Vine Wall, since their ability allows them to move through spaces containing Units, and there's no issue ending their turn there because once they're on, the Vine Wall isn't a Unit anymore.

Posted on 2016-05-11.

prometheuslkr commented:

I'm just confused because it seems like there are two scenarios where you'd be treating it differently if it were a unit than if it were a vine wall, and in one (where it goes when killed) you say the vine wall rules supersede the rulebook, but on the other (moving through it) you say the rulebook supersedes the vine wall rules ("a unit may move or be placed onto a space containing a vine wall," the only exception being you cannot move through "a unit that is on a vine wall"). Vine wall rules are a card effect just like a special ability, and if you had a unit with the ability "a unit may move or be placed onto a space containing this card" there wouldn't be any confusion, regardless of whether or not that unit is considered to "occupy" its space.

Posted on 2016-05-11.

killercactus commented:

It needs to be FAQ'ed, but Vine Walls do not occupy a space. That's the reason everything with the "unoccupied" wording let's you put stuff on Vine Walls. The Vine Wall rules are a long way of saying "this space is not occupied - go ahead and move onto it". That's why the VW rules don't beat the rulebook here. The rulebook talks about moving through occupied spaces, but a Vine Wall was never occupied to begin with, so nothing on the Vine Wall rules circumvents that. You still can't move through an occupied space. If the Vine Wall rules beat that, any Unit would be allowed to move onto a Vine Wall containing another Unit.

Posted on 2016-05-11.

prometheuslkr commented:

Ok first of all, that may be what it means but it's not what it says. But even if you change the wording of the vine wall rules to say simply "vine walls do not occupy spaces," that would still override the rulebook because card effects trump the rulebook, and there's nothing on Fury of the Fen that says the effect "vine walls do not occupy spaces" ceases to be true. If a vine wall can be a card that doesn't occupy a space, there's no reason it couldn't be a unit that doesn't occupy a space.

Besides, if the intent of the card wasn't that units could still move through Fen walls, why would you include the sentence stating that vine walls cannot move onto spaces containing another card? I thought the only reason for that was to prevent a vine wall moving onto another vine wall, but if no unit can move onto a vine wall during FotF anyway, then it's a waste of space that could have been occupied by a sentence explaining this situation.

Posted on 2016-05-11.

killercactus commented:

I'm moving this into the preview thread - easier to post there.

Posted on 2016-05-11.

McBehrer commented:

Yeah, I'm inclined to agree. It is a superfluous sentence.

Posted on 2016-06-12.

You must be registered for our forums and logged in to leave a comment.