Click here to pre-order Brennen and Rin, and other new Ashes products! And be sure to try out these new cards in our Ashes deck builder!

We have reached the end of previews for The Children of Blackcloud. Today we look at the last card included in Brennen's deck.  And it's been a fun ride! From engines that manufacture repeatable damage, to cards intended to extend the game long enough to secure victory, most of the Children of Blackcloud's cards serve a distinct purpose in Brennen's deck. Choke, today's preview, is a little different. This card doesn't work towards The Children of Blackcloud's engine. It doesn't directly contribute the the strategy of the deck. No, no, Choke doesn't synergize with the rest of the cards in Brennen's deck. It's just a good card, a really good card!

Choke

At first glance this card may seem rather innocuous. What exactly does it do? Well, the first thing it does is it breaks up combos. Not all combos, but enough that this to warrant the 1 Ceremonial Class cost.

What kind of combos? Well, for instance, for one magic you can stop Pain Link on the Living Doll from triggering when your opponent plays Redirect. It also stops the Enchanted Violinist's ability Song of Sorrow from triggering off of Saria's ability Heart's Pull. Or you could stop Saria's ability to begin with.

Which brings me to my next point: Every Phoenixborn ability is pretty awesome, and choke stops every one of them, and some of the most powerful Phoenixborn and unit abilities can be triggered multiple times in a round or even a turn. Just look at Jessa's ability, Screams of the Departed. Its power comes from being used over and over. But with Choke, you can stop the Jessa player from using that ability for a whole turn!

And the Blue Jaguar's Gaze 1 ability. Yeah, I'd rather my unit not be exhausted, thank you! In fact, a good many of the things most players consider quite annoying are unit or Phoenixborn abilities. And Choke stops almost all of them.

Just try putting a Choke or 2 in your deck, and trust me when I say you'll be amazed at how useful you'll find this card!

That's it for the Children of Blackcloud. This is one of my favorite pre-constructed decks, and it's been a pleasure showing off the cards found in it. Thursday I get to show you one last card found in The Frostdale Giants, Rin's final frozen flurry.

Thanks for reading!
Bob

Click here to pre-order The Children of Blackcloud, The Frostdale Giants, and even extra dice! Get Lulu Firststone or Dimona Odinstar FREE with each Ashes deck purchase, or buy them separately!

Rin/Brennen Previews:
Brennen: Blackcloud Ninja, Crimson Bomber and Poison, Chant of Protection and Chant of the Dead, Fire Archer, Blood Chains and Regress, Dread Wraith
Rin: Rin's Fury, Frost Fang and Frostback Bear, Crystal Shield and Frozen Crown, Deep Freeze and Ice Trap, Summon Ice Golem, Frost Bite


Comments


jgibbo90 commented:

Maybe I'll change my mind once I actually have this card in my hand and seeing how useful it actually is but I think this is the card I'll end up discarding when using the Chant of Protection spell. No way am I discarding any of the useful allies/Summon Dread Wraith spells, useful Alteration spells like Poison (buffing Dread Wraith) or Regress (because it's awesome) and definitely not Chant of Dead/Protection. It only leaves Blood Chains and Choke as the surplus to requirement cards - and Blood Chains will have it's uses.

Posted on 2016-03-29.

killercactus commented:

I'm fairly certain I'll be discarding an Ally I can get back later with CoP, and using this to wreck Aradel and Jessa.

Posted on 2016-03-29.

jgibbo90 commented:

@killercactus But Chant of Protection will need every status token on it to bring back a Blackcloud Ninja/Crimson Bomber so it would be completely redundant and a waste of turns discarding one of them. The only ally I'd consider discarding is Fire Archer but again it seems more useful just to play him, kill him using Brennan's Spirit Burn and deal 2 damage to the opponent's Phoenixborn (only to bring him back later on with Ceremonial Power dice.)

Posted on 2016-03-29.

killercactus commented:

I guess I'm thinking more about built decks where I'll have Anchornauts, but even so I think Choke is one of the last cards I'd wanna discard. I'd much rather get rid of Poison or an extra Summon Wraith or something before this.

Posted on 2016-03-29.

Cameleons commented:

Can this card be used to cancel Unit Guard ability?


Posted on 2016-03-29.

MightyToenail commented:

It's situational. So good in Coal where you can just discard it if it is the wrong situation.

Posted on 2016-03-29.

jgibbo90 commented:

@killercactus I was just talking about Brennan's Pre Built deck and comparing the previewed cards we've seen. If we're talking Built decks I don't think Choke would make the cut but like I said- I'd need to see more in game action before I made a certain decision on it. Also if you were talking Anchornauts you wouldn't need the CoP you mentioned so I assumed you meant Brennan's pre built deck allies.

Posted on 2016-03-29.

glenn3e commented:

This is a very very good card. Arguably the best card in the Brennan set to deckbuild.

Posted on 2016-03-29.

killercactus commented:

I feel like this is one of those staple cards that would be awesome anywhere.

Posted on 2016-03-29.

Cetonis commented:

What's the timing on this? "Would use" is incredibly vague. I'm guessing that for a played ability it's after they paid the cost, but for a triggered ability... is it upon "declaring their intent" to trigger it?

The whole trigger/reaction sequence is hard to wrap my head around just going off explanations given for individual cases so far.

And then there's Anchornaut...

Posted on 2016-03-29.

Tomaisin commented:

Once you play this card to cancel the ability, does that mean my opponent's unit or PB ability is exhausted? Or can they say that since I "choked" it, the ability wasn't used and thus not exhausted so they can just try it again on their next turn.
(I know players that will attempt that line of reasoning as they like to get a mile out of a 1 inch rule)

Posted on 2016-03-29.

jayelbird commented:

@Tomaisin This card cancels the effects of an ability, but it does not prevent that player from paying the cost of the ability.

@Cetonis The timing works like this: One player declares that they are going to use an ability, declares a target, and then pays the cost. Before resolving the effect of the ability, the other player will declare that they are going to use to Choke to cancel the ability and prevent its resolution.

Posted on 2016-03-29.

Cetonis commented:

@jayelbird

That explanation contradicts a prior ruling given by Bob that says that the intention to use all relevant abilities is declared by both players before any targets are chosen (let alone costs paid), so that the currently active player can arrange the timing of various triggers and reactions as they see fit.

Posted on 2016-03-29.

mcraejohnny commented:

Brennan sitting on the Iron Throne

Posted on 2016-03-29.

Vidyaraja commented:

@Cetonis

I don't think it really contraddicts that? Like Golden Veil, Choke happens in a special place that is after you have chosen a target (normally the very last thing you do just before actually resolving the effect) but before anything is done. Where's the contraddiction?

Posted on 2016-03-29.

RaptorBonz commented:

According to the FAQ, Pay first, then choose Targets, then resolves effects. From what I can see, declaring to use an effect is A: assuming its an ability visible on the board, and B: during the Pay or choose target phases. either way the Reaction occurs after it is triggered. so it would begin its resolution cycle after the cost for any other ability has already been paid.

something along the lines of
Me "I intend to use Song of Sorrow"
You "I have no response at this time" OR "I intend to respond"
Me Pay my ability and select my target
You "I am responding by playing choke"
Me "Curse your sudden but inevitable betrayal"
You Pay for choke and select your target
Choke cancels song of sorrow

Edited thanks to Vidyaraja's note below
Good call Vidyaraja, I missed that choke does not target the unit but just stops the ability.

Posted on 2016-03-29.

Vidyaraja commented:

I don't think you can GV a choke, as it does not target the unit whose ability is canceled (at least it does not use that wording)
Even though the general definition of targeting is "affecting something"... Certainly Choke would affect an Enchanted Violinist by negating use of her ability...

Posted on 2016-03-29.

MightyToenail commented:

That is so clunky in actual gameplay @raptorbonz.

Posted on 2016-03-29.

Vidyaraja commented:

So, Unit Guard talk:
I've got two Gilders in play, and a third unit you want to kill. You declare an attack on that unit, I try and guard with a Gilder, you Choke it.
Can I declare a guard with the second Gilder?
Same example, but this time after the guarding unit gets Choked I want to guard with my PB instead.

Posted on 2016-03-29.

Cetonis commented:

Attempt to make sense of this on forums here: http://www.plaidhatgames.com/sum_forums/showthread.php?12390-Choke-quot-used-quot-and-other-hard-timing-stuff

Posted on 2016-03-29.

jgibbo90 commented:

@Vidyaraja regarding Unit Guard- isn't the Unit Guard abilty inexhaustable so it wouldn't be affected by Choke as it states that it affects abilties that are 'not inexhaustable'?

Posted on 2016-03-30.

Vidyaraja commented:

It is exhaustible though, check Gilder and Crystal Shield. UG is not in a golden box.

Posted on 2016-03-30.

jgibbo90 commented:

@Vidyaraja Wow I'd never ever noticed this- it's never really come up in one of my games yet as the unit guard (Butterfly Monk, Gilder, False Demon) has always been destroyed with the first hit. This makes a lot of sense though- thanks for the clarification!

Posted on 2016-03-30.

Vidyaraja commented:

It normally would not come up since there was little meaning to UG being exhaustible or not - an exhausted unit would not be able to guard anyway. It only meant something for Reflections in the Water.

Posted on 2016-03-30.

jgibbo90 commented:

@Vidyaraja I think it becomes important when you have a Unit Guard who has high health (I'm thinking False Demon with Bring Forth attached) who, if the ability was non-exhaustible, could simply guard units and not counter to exhaust enemy units and absorb the damage. It's good to know before Crystal Shield comes in to play in April!

Posted on 2016-03-30.

Vidyaraja commented:

... If it was exhausted it could not counter (or actually guard at all) even if UG itself was inexhaustible, I fail to see your point there

Posted on 2016-03-30.

jgibbo90 commented:

@Vidyaraja my understanding before you corrected me was that Unit Guard could be used as many times as the controlling player wanted, providing they did not exhaust the unit via Counter/a previous attack. The point I'm making is that I'm glad I now know that when an unexhausted unit with Unit Guard is used, they are exhausted (regardless of whether they counter or not) and therefore they cannot be used to guard a unit again for the remainder of the round. Please correct me if that is not the case.

Posted on 2016-03-30.

jayelbird commented:

A unit is only exhausted when it attacks or counters, barring any other effects.

Posted on 2016-03-30.

killercactus commented:

I don't think that's true jgibb. Exhausting the Unit is not part of the cost of Unit Guard, so the Unit does not get an exhaustion token when they use it. All that it means by not being inexhaustible is that if the Unit already has an exhaustion token on it, Unit Guard cannot be used.

Posted on 2016-03-30.

Vidyaraja commented:

killercactus said it.

Posted on 2016-03-30.

jgibbo90 commented:

Right ok this makes sense now. Thanks everyone for clarifying- this makes Crystal Shield as powerful as I thought it was... and maybe I'm coming round to seeing the usefulness of Choke now :)

Posted on 2016-03-31.

You must be registered for our forums and logged in to leave a comment.