Alt Cover by artist renowned for Squirrel Girl: Erica Henderson

Cover by artists renowned for The Sixth Gun: Brian Hurtt with Bill Crabtree

APRIL 20, 2017, PORTLAND, OROni Press, Portland's premier independent comic book publisher, is thrilled to announce DEAD OF WINTER, a new comic book series based on the smash hit tabletop board games by Plaid Hat Games. Featuring the talents of writer Kyle Starks (Rick and Morty, Rock Candy Mountain) and artist Gabo (The Life After, Elephantmen), featuring cover art illustrated by Brian Hurtt and Bill Crabtree (The Sixth Gun, The Damned), arriving this August.

In the pantheon of heroes, none are more lovable and loyal than everyone's beloved good ol’ dog, Sparky. Surviving in the wintery apocalypse of the undead, this former TV star turned zombie killing machine just wants to make friends and be a good boy. As his fellow survivors scavenge for supplies in the frigid wasteland, will Sparky be able to protect his companions from threats both undead and not yet undead?

A hilarious mix of The Walking Dead and Airbud (no, really), the Dead of Winter comic series draws from the incredibly fun and diverse sandbox of characters from the hit board games, starring fan-favorite canine, Sparky the Stunt Dog.

Oni Press Senior Editor Charlie Chu gushes, “Plaid Hat's Dead of Winter is one of my all-time favorite board games, with its sandbox of fun and diverse characters. Just like in the game, fall in love with Sparky all over again as he becomes a zombie murdering machine while keeping precious morale high.”

Get your fuel and food ready for the arrival of Dead of Winter #1 on Wednesday, August 2, 2017, available at local comic book shops and ComiXology! Dead of Winter #1 will solicit in the June for August PREVIEWS catalog for ordering information, in comic book shops on Wednesday, May 31. The final order cutoff for comic shop retailers is Monday, July 10, 2017.

 

DEAD OF WINTER #1

Perfect for fans of The Walking DeadWE3, and Beasts of Burden!

 

 


Age Rating: Mature  Genre: Horror, Humor
Price: $3.99  Page Count: 32

About Oni Press, Inc.:

Oni Press is a premier comic book and graphic novel publisher located in Portland, Oregon. Founded in 1997, Oni Press is run by Founder and Publisher Joe Nozemack and Editor-in-Chief James Lucas Jones. Oni Press’s curated line includes a variety of best-selling, award-winning, original and licensed comic books and graphic novels, including: [adult swim]’s Rick and Morty, Nickelodeon’s Invader ZIMScott PilgrimQueen & CountryCourtney Crumrin,WastelandThe Sixth GunStumptownWet Moon, Letter 44The BunkerThe Life AfterThe Coldest City, and Kaijumax.

 


Comments