Well, hello.

This is Cory Bullock. I've been recently given both the privilege and stunningly daunting task of being the Lead Playtester for Summoner Wars. I'm both extremely honored and incredibly excited to ensure that the game keeps up its reputation as a balanced, fun game out of the box. I also want to give a shout out to James, a good friend, for teaching me everything I've learned from him while working with him for over two years now.

That being said, one of my earliest tasks was to update the document you see below: the Summoner Wars FAQ. It's now current, up to the most recent releases, and I have every intention of maintaining this as a living document as more cards release and the Summoner Wars metagame shifts and crazy questions about crazy combos arise. If you want to know if Conjurers can destroy Vine Walls without attacking, or how badly Mind Witches gave me a headache while writing this document, or how to get the most out of the Abomination, then the latest version of the Summoner Wars FAQ is what you need.

Download FAQ Additionally, Joe's set up a new email, [email protected] that you can email directly when you've got a real stumper. I, or someone like me, will be answering those questions and sending back as prompt an answer as we can. In fact, we'll be using some of the questions that we get to help ensure the FAQ in the future is as useful for you guys as it possibly can be.

And feel free to send basic questions, too, if you're new to the game and want official answers, but don't forget that the plaidhatgames.com forum is great for answering those kinds of questions, too.

Happy summoning.

Click here to download the Summoner Wars FAQ 2.0.


Comments


tortugatron commented:

RIP James.

Posted on 2012-10-25.

joepinion commented:

For clarification on tortugatron's comment, James is not dead.

Posted on 2012-10-25.

tortugatron commented:

Sorry Alex

Posted on 2012-10-25.

PePe QuiCoSE commented:

And for questions you are pretty sure are answered somewhere but you couldn't find this is a good place to post:
http://www.plaidhatgames.com/sum_forums/showthread.php?559-Question-Dump-Post-Your-Questions-Here!
(no idea how to make it a link)

Posted on 2012-10-25.

Adam commented:

There is an entry for Summoning Surge that states you move discards onto your draw pile. Pretty sure they go to your magic pile.

Posted on 2012-10-25.

Elcor13 commented:

Hey guys, I'm gonna be the unofficial FAQ'er for the day since Cory is indisposed at the moment.

@Adam - The Summoning Surge post is a typo. I've let him know about it. Cory spent a lot of time and energy over the past few days working on it so there are bound to be a a few mistakes like that. Don't take 'em seriously.

If anyone sees any others like that email Cory at [email protected]

Posted on 2012-10-25.

ahath80 commented:

Very very cool - thanks for taking the time to update this! Must have been a huge task, hopefully made much easier in the future with the new faq email account.

Posted on 2012-10-25.

chardris77 commented:

I didn't know about 1.0.0.26. I thought, as it happened at once, the active player determined order.

Posted on 2012-10-25.

Adam commented:

Oh i dont doubt he put a lot of work im this. That is very evident and very much appreciated. Just wanted to point that out. I'll email him future findings/questions. I'm barely a few pages in and already learned a bunch. Thanks!

Posted on 2012-10-25.

Elcor13 commented:

@Adam Haha no probs. I'm sure he appreciates it.

Posted on 2012-10-25.

Barliman commented:

Thanks for getting this up so quickly, Cory. We all have waited a long time.

Now to get looking at it in detail ...

Posted on 2012-10-25.

darkbladecb commented:

Cory here. That is an error on my part. I'll update it as soon as I can. Thanks, Elcor, for relaying that initially.

Posted on 2012-10-25.

Shockma Ranyk commented:

I'm thinking the example in 1.0.0.27 might not be the best seeing as the Vine Wall wouldn't go to your magic pile anyway. It's not an error, just something that could maybe cause some misunderstanding to a new player.

Posted on 2012-10-25.

Adam commented:

Also, there is a question about mutating a frozen unit and what happens to the freeze card after. The answer confirms you can mutate it but doesn't mention what happems to the freeze, that I see. I'd guess it stays frozen but just wondering since the FAQ Master is here commenting.

Posted on 2012-10-25.

Ranior commented:

Thanks for all your work!

I have full faith the PHG team will put out high quality work!



Posted on 2012-10-25.

You must be registered for our forums and logged in to leave a comment.