Question about Artifacts. With the exception of the Summoning Stone, all artifacts are "received."

What precisely does that mean? The issue is this, does it go straight to your loot pile, requiring you to spend an action to equip it? Or do you treat it like the result of a search, and can immediately equip it without spending an action?

Questions about battle actions.

"when a hero draws a new monster card, he must immediately battle it - this "surprise" battle is mandatory, but does not count as 1 of the hero's 2 actions for the turn."

Does this count as a "battle action you initiate." for Emma Goodluck's Slow Time or as a battle action for Vargagg's Fury?