According to the rules, when playing as a campaign, each mouse can only bring one search card that it got from the previous chapter.

So here is a question. When you finish a chapter, is it permitted within the rules as written to make trades of search cards to maximize their availability in the next chapter? Example: Nez has both the Walnut Armor and Thimble Helm. Tilda has no search cards. Once the game is over, could Nez give Tilda the Thimble Helm to put in her pack, so that he can get it from her during the next chapter? Or.... does the game automatically end when the victory condition is met and no mice can take any further actions?