Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: inevitability rule discussion

Default inevitability rule discussion

Moving this here, so we don't pollute the master-thread

Quote Originally Posted by commandercool View Post
    An inevitability already punishes/rewards certain cards more than others. To me, Ossa + Jacob’s abilities being used defensively are avoiding fights and that should be punished. ...
    My thinking is exactly the acceptance here. If I'm new to the errata project and play a game and I see this rule (to avoid stalemates we have an inevitability rule) I might think "good idea". However, in a game with MV vs. Oldin when your wall took 2 wounds and you decide to do a great turn with Ossa + Stormmage to kill several units you WILL not accept the Oldin player to wound your wall follow up by 2x besiege the walls. I'd feel cheated and I would immediately question the whole Project. A rule like this MUST be soft and trigger only in the cases it's supposed to trigger

I also don't agree on the "ease of use" argument, as in my opinion including any "offensive action" not triggering the rule is much more easy to track

At the beginning of your turn, if the opponent player has not

1) destroyed, wounded or rolled a dice to wound an enemy card, using an attack, ability or event, you may place a wound marker on a wall

2) if the opponent didn't attack an enemy card during his turn, you may place a wound marker on a wall

Now obviously the text of 1) is "more" than 2) but is it complicated? I think there are way way more complicated things - our warden ability is 3x more complex. Now once you understand it, the rule becomes much more easy and consistent in 1) than 2) during the games

1) takehome: "do something to harm an enemy card in any way and you are good" -> which includes EVERYTHING no exception