Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 101

Thread: The Book of Gror

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Grayson, KY
    Posts
    1,421

    Default The Book of Gror

    The Book of Gror
    Champion of the Guild Dwarves - Starter Set 1: Guild Dwarves vs. Cave Goblins



    Character Bio: Gror wields one of the Guild Dwarves most valuable possessions, the Sundering Hammer. The hammer was forged by the great smith Dursa, whose likeness can still be found in most of the Guild Dwarf forges today. The hammer was inscribed with magical runes that give it the ability to send out shockwaves on impact that damage everyone around the hammer, except for its wielder, as if they were hit by the hammer itself.

    Rulings and Clarifications
    - If Baldar is in his area of effect and Gror rolls a hit and a miss does Baldar's shield block activate or not (if he is on your team and if you are fighting Dwarves vs. Dwarves)
    Quote Originally Posted by Truth View Post
    If you are the one hammer quaking and Baldar is in the wake, he takes damage even if you don't roll all hits, which is the case any time you attack a Baldar your control. If he is trapped in the wake of an opponent's AOE he doesn't take any wounds unless the dice are all hits.
    - How is area of effect determined?
    Quote Originally Posted by Truth View Post
    You count the spaces like you would count out movement, so area of effect powers have a sort of diamond shaped area of effect.
    - If Gror attacks when Goblin Invincibility is active, then all of goblins who in range of Gror's attack are protected with Invincibility, or only that unit which is attacked?
    When Gror attacks, all Cave Goblin units affected by his attack are protected by Goblin Invincibility, and thus only receive wounds on 6's or higher.
    Community Contributions
    - Within X spaces - area of effect
    Thread Starter: nyphot

    - Question about Gror
    Thread Starter: RoninValentina
    Last edited by KCU Master 2007; 06-09-2010 at 02:27 PM.
    The Books of Summoner Wars...someone had to do it
    35-27 on Vassal (56%) - MOST RECENT: SE vs VG/thenightsshadow

    Vassal Tourney: 3-1 for 3rd Place

    KCU's FanFic (updated 6-18-12)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Prince George BC
    Posts
    35

    Default

    does gror have to attack a card? or can he attack nothing, so that his "shock wave" can still hit the oppents cards.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Im not sure where, but this was answered, Gror must attack a figure for the shockwave to work

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    506

    Default

    It was answered way back in November or so in my question thread (page back to "Tons of Questions" started by Quintaton16).

    More importantly, it was added to the FAQ in the downloads section. The FAQ is your friend.
    Last edited by Quintaton16; 04-15-2010 at 04:13 PM. Reason: Didn't close parenthesis (above
    Carl the Sword Grounder has seen worse than . . .
    Rallul's Banquet
    Harrumff.

  5. #5

    Default

    I have seen this combo 2 times in the 11 games I have played or watched played. You drop this guy one turn, move him into position, and the next drop 2 heroic feats and have destroy everyting in a single turn. This guy has the chance to be the strongest unit in the game with his mass burst of doom.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Iberia, LA
    Posts
    17

    Default

    This guy seems kinda tricky to set up. I'm assuming there is no way to use a regular attack and not use his area of effect attack right? So you have to make sure your away from your own forces before you use his attack.



    Dustin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    420

    Default

    What happens when Gror targets a smasher for an attack? How does Quake Hammer interact with Sluggish?

    Here are the options as far as I can see:

    1. Since 2 wounds per put on the smasher, all figures in the quake area receive 2 wounds.

    2. Smashers receives 2 wounds. Roll dice once for all other effected, non-sluggish figures.

    3. Smasher is the only figure affected by Gror's attack because Sluggish says "...instead of rolling the dice...".

    My guess is option 2.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    70

    Default

    It can't be #1 because Sluggish says, "Place that number of Wound Markers on this Smasher."

    As for the other choices, it is #2 which is correct.

    From the Official FAQ:
    Q: If a Smasher is hit by an attack that affects multiple Units, like Krungís Wild Swing or Grorís
    Hammer Quake, does the attacker still have to roll attack dice? How much damage will the
    Smasher take?

    A: Even if a Smasher is the first target of Grorís Hammer Quake, the attacking player will roll dice
    equal to his Unitís attack value. Because of Sluggish, the Smasher will take damage equal to the
    number of dice rolled, and any other cards affected by the attack will receive their wounds as
    usual.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    If Gror kills any friendly units with Hammer Quake, do they go into the controlling players Magic pile?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Elkhart, IN
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nyys View Post
    If Gror kills any friendly units with Hammer Quake, do they go into the controlling players Magic pile?
    Yes, if by friendly you mean the same player controlling Gror.

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •