Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Redirect

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012

    Default Redirect

    If multiple units attack my Phoenixborn, can redirect be used to divert all the damage received, or just the damage from one of the attackers?
    Marek is LOVE. Marek is LIFE.

    3 rules of SW:

    1. Marek is perfect.

    2. Marek is the best Summoner ever.

    3. Marek will troll the everliving crap out of you.

    "If you can't blow them away with your brilliance, baffle them with your bullshit." -Marek (probably).
    Member of the unofficial PHG debate team. (Officially endorsed by Marek.)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    New Zealand


    I believe you can only redirect the damage from one.

    Why? Because Redirect triggers off a situation where your Phoenixborn would receive damage. When resolving an 'attack a Phoenixborn' action, each unit that attacks resolves separately (one at a time). Because each attack is resolved separately, Redirect can only be triggered during one of the attack resolutions, not all of them. This is actually a smart move from the designers as players don't spend ages attacking with one unit at a time when their opponent's battlefield is empty for fear of this card being played.

    The situation where Redirect could work for multiple unit's damage, is during an 'attack a unit' action, where the Phoenixborn guards. In an attack a unit action, damage is lumped and dealt at once. If the PB was to guard for a targeted unit, it would receive the damage in one lumped sum, and this could be entirely redirected.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts