Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Redirect + Consume Question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    3

    Question Redirect + Consume Question

    This came up in a game the other night, did a quick search and didn't see the answer, nor is the FAQ conclusive on the matter.

    Q. If my Phoenixborn would be dealt damage and I cast Redirect to instead deal that damage to a unit I control that would be destroyed, would the damage be considered to originate from my opponent or from myself for the purposes of Silver Snake's Consume ability?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,212

    Default

    It will be considered as if Consume does not trigger. The card the damage originates from is Redirect and as such does not qualify for Consume.
    The night's shadow exists, not sleeping at all,
    The toil of the light is its only call,
    Behind the scenes lurking with shadowy gall,
    Its face never showing; height never too tall.

    Without a cry wherein dissent finds respite,
    The multitudes safer in the billowing light,
    More likely than not to strike evil at night,
    Then silently vanishing to be out of sight.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Reposted from Bob's ruling on the Facebook group:
    Redirect does not cause the damage, the damage is from the original source. Also Redirect did not destroy the unit, the damage from the original source destroyed the unit. So if you redirect damage from a spell or attack that your opponent controls and that damage would destroy a unit you control, any silver snake your opponent to controls would consume that creature.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •