Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: "After moving" ability - Can we choose to move 0 space?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur
    Posts
    282

    Default "After moving" ability - Can we choose to move 0 space?

    Just want to ask. For units with "After moving..." abilities, if for example we have elected to move Hawk or Vermin, can we choose to move them 0 space and activate their abilities? Will this be legal?

    What I understand is that these units must move at least 1 space to activate their abilities. However, I'm not sure what the official rule about this is.

    This can have an implication to the gameplay as the opponent can strategise to surround these units, prevent them from moving and in turn stop them from having their abilities activated.

    Would be glad that someone can clarify on this.
    Last edited by brightknight_216; 12-01-2011 at 12:22 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    USA - OH - Ashland
    Posts
    1,979

    Default

    You CAN move them 0 spaces. This takes up one of your 3 movements. In contrast to this, for "after attacking" (such as the Bender's Controller) you do have to actually attack something.
    Webmaster
    1 AV, 3 Life, 2 Summon Cost
    POST
    Instead of posting with this Webmaster during your Posting Phase, you may add 1 post count to a member that is adjacent to this Webmaster. That unit may write up to to two posts, and if that unit is a Doug, add 1 to its Avatar Value for the remainder of the turn. POST cannot be used on another Webmaster.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,489

    Default

    Joe is correct.

    Should call him joefact.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    1,052

    Default

    Hmmm, can you move 0 spaces while adjacent to a defender? IE, does the defender prevent the act of activating someone to move, or the physical move itself?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    USA - OH - Ashland
    Posts
    1,979

    Default

    Yeah it prevents it. So a vermin next to a defender can't use its ability.
    Webmaster
    1 AV, 3 Life, 2 Summon Cost
    POST
    Instead of posting with this Webmaster during your Posting Phase, you may add 1 post count to a member that is adjacent to this Webmaster. That unit may write up to to two posts, and if that unit is a Doug, add 1 to its Avatar Value for the remainder of the turn. POST cannot be used on another Webmaster.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3,212

    Default

    I should also mention something that came up when I was demoing the game.

    "After moving" abilities doesn't mean you can put it off until after you attack. "After moving" should be treated as "immediately after moving".
    The night's shadow exists, not sleeping at all,
    The toil of the light is its only call,
    Behind the scenes lurking with shadowy gall,
    Its face never showing; height never too tall.

    Without a cry wherein dissent finds respite,
    The multitudes safer in the billowing light,
    More likely than not to strike evil at night,
    Then silently vanishing to be out of sight.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur
    Posts
    282

    Default

    Thanks for the clarification guys. At least we know we are playing the game right.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •