Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: "Abundance" and Pheonixborn abilities

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011

    Default "Abundance" and Pheonixborn abilities

    Played our first game with Saria Guideman today. One question we had was if Abundance has the ability to deal two damage per card not drawn. We didn't actually run into the situation so here's a hypothetical. I am playing against Saria, and have 0 cards in my deck available for drawing. If my opponent activates the "abundance" spell, may I "choose" not to draw thus only activating the damage from the spell, or must I take damage from the spell as well as the generic game rule that I take one damage for each card unable to be drawn? Thus, receiving 2 damage per card not drawn?

    Second question: Are Pheonixborn and Dice abilities "spells"? In the same game I was damaging Saria's Seaside Ravens with Aradel Summergaard's "Water Blast" as well as using the "Natural Dice" ability to deal damage. Were these actions legal? The Seaside Raven's "Magic Guard" ability states that it cannot be affected by an opponent's spell. Does this include dice and Pheonixborn, or only cards that say "ready spell" or "Action Spell" and the like?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    USA - OH - Ashland


    As per the rules, you only take damage from not being able to draw by rule during the beginning of a round, not for things like Abundance.

    No, only Action Spells and Ready Spells and Reactions Spells are spells, not unit abilities, phoenixborn abilities, or dice powers.
    1 AV, 3 Life, 2 Summon Cost
    Instead of posting with this Webmaster during your Posting Phase, you may add 1 post count to a member that is adjacent to this Webmaster. That unit may write up to to two posts, and if that unit is a Doug, add 1 to its Avatar Value for the remainder of the turn. POST cannot be used on another Webmaster.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Vickery, OH


    Alterations are also spells

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts