Thread: The ghost town

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default The ghost town

I just started playing this game and find that here and in BGG itīs a ghost town? why it is so?

I think it's a fine game but the cover art and setting didn't draw in that many people.

It is a great game. Loads of depth and replayability, with lots of paths to victory, interesting player powers and card play. It has been a big hit with my group, and is a favorite of mine.

I agree about the cover art not drawing people in. I remember hearing something on the podcast about it coming back from the printers a lot darker than expected. It's a real shame, because it's an awesome game.

It shines after just a couple rounds, and there are complex economic strategies, but I think more Euro-enthusiastic players don't give it a chance because of the theme.

I think we all should start spreading the word, and give City of Remnants a second wind!

Fight the Yugai!
    Gamecenter ID: brockst4r

I was really considering buying this game since i dont have a copy of my own, but the community is so dead, I dont knwo what the problem was, i think the game had a lot of potential, this coudl become a favorite of mine and its just dead, I hope there is some reprint and more hype. Sadly since i dont own a copy i cant see if there was any problem with the gameplay when played a lot. The few times i played though it seemed fighting was really bad, but this is one of those subtle things that i know most people dont notice, so i dobut this was the problem. If there are plans for a 2nd edition i would like to playtest this to help fix potential balance problems.
    Last edited by Waterd; 03-17-2016 at 01:48 PM.

I won a copy of this game at GenCon a few years back and I may still have it. I don't really have the time to do this now but maybe next month I could make a Vassal mod for people to play it online. Only if there was enough interest, though.